Saturday, 27 July 2013

My First Time TAG

If you're a YouTube addict like me, you may know there is a tag circulating called the 'My First Time' Tag! If you don't already know about this tag, I will tell you now that is in fact not about people's first sexual experiences, but instead about all around first time experiences in that individuals life. 

Before I jump right in and start, I tag you if you're reading this, to create you're own first time blog! Trust me, it's actually pretty interesting to think back and remember certain experiences in your childhood/past, and also read about others :) 

Right, let's go!

First date?
I think my first date was with my then boyfriend. I was probably around 13 years old, but had been with him for a few months seeing as we're close family friends. On what I hope was my first date, we went to a fun fair in a huge park around where I live that goes on every year (and still does now 6 years later). Embarrassingly, we went with my parents, brother, nan and grandad (so it wasn't really a date, but we considered it to be) and together, went on all the rides, one of which I absolutely hated and almost threw up everywhere as soon as my feet touched solid ground. I actually remember just standing there right next to the ride, bending over a bin, being stared at by everyone whilst my whole family, and boyfriend, watched me as I so desperately tried not to be sick. It's literally scarred me for life and to this day, I will never go on one of those swish, side to side rides again. 

First kiss?
My first kiss probably occurred in primary school in one of those games of 'spin the bottle'. However, my first proper kiss, that didn't come about because of a play-time game, was most likely with the boyfriend I was with on my first date. I think it happen when I walked with him down to the train station after spending a day at mine together and before he got on the train gave me a little kiss. 

First pet?
I can't remember which pet came first, but I do remember having a goldfish called Goldie (original I know) that randomly died one morning, or if first pet was our family cat called Bertie. I have no solid memories about Goldie apart from his death, but I have countless memories with Bertie who sadly died three summers ago and I miss so so SO much. 

First gadget? 
My nintendo Gameboy, which I'm holding right now. This gadget was purchased on one of my family holidays - I still occasionally play it even now to feel all 90's and retro :) My brother and I both had the silver game boys and always got ours mixed up, so our way of not getting them confused was to stick those little stickers that you get on apples on my brothers gameboy - and to this day there is still one remaining apple sticker. 

First CD?
This without a doubt had to be Busted. I was their biggest fan and I even now, can probably remember all the lyrics to many of their songs. Still so bummed they haven't had a reunion tour or something :( COME ON BOYS, THINK OF THE FANS.

First job? 
My first job was working on a campsite in Cornwall over the summer holidays. It was such a nice grown up experience seeing as it was my first proper job! I remember getting my work t-shirt and took loads of pictures in it to feel all grown up and sophisticated! The best part of the job though by far had to be that I was literally about 30 seconds away from work, so although I started work at 9am, I could have been able to get up at about 8.55 and wander over just there in time. However being the crazy lamo I am, I was still up an hour before work and get over there slightly early - such a keen bean. 

First car? 
My first car is the car I still have today. It's a silver VW polo called 'Dippy' and I love her very much :)

First YouTube video?
When I was in secondary school, myself and my friend Daniela started up our own YouTube channel called the NicoleAndDanielaShow. We uploaded quite a few videos ranging from lyric videos of Taylor Swift and the Jonas Brothers that got over 150,000 views, to full on rants about how people needed to stop being so evil to the disney stars, that didn't get over 150,000 views but many controversial comments. However, our first YouTube video was of a music video inspired by the disney movie 'Princess Protection Programme'. We both dressed up like Demi Lovato and Selena Gomez and made a pretty good if I may say so myself music video of the song 'One and the Same'. The video itself was actually pretty successful for two teenage girls who were casually messing around, but eventually we deleted it and the channel because we were starting new 6th forms and almost wanted to hide our embarrassing videos to save us from most likely being bullied for the 2 years. 

First tweet?




Not very interesting I know. Thought I would have written something better than that as my first tweet! I decided to screen shot some of my firstish tweets, seeing as they may be slightly more interesting as this one:




So many <3's *cringe* 

Check out your twitter archive, it's so interesting (and time consuming) to see all of your tweets and what you were doing however many years ago! I just got distracted for about half an hour looking at all my tweets from 2009 - so weird to know how much has and hasn't changed!

First concert? 
The first concert I ever went to was Busted. It was amazing and I want them to get back together to have a reunion right now. There's not much else to say. 

And there we go, some of my first time experiences! I hope you enjoyed this blog and remember, I tag you to do this blog to! Have a good weekend and make sure to leave your blog link in the comments below!

Nicole
xxx

Friday, 26 July 2013

Color Run 2013

As some of you may or may not know, I am a big fan of a number of things, three of which relate to this blog so they are what I'm going to tell you about! 

The first thing is meeting new people, this is something I have a love/hate relationship with, I like meeting new people because I hope that these meetings could flourish into friendships and what not, however I do occasionally feel meeting new people is a bit daunting due to the fact I can be a rather shy person who stresses over all the little things. The second thing is participating in different events and actually saying yes to more things that I know I want to do. The third is being a CTFxC'er - If you don't know what CTFxC is, it's two YouTubers who are husband and wife, called Charles and Alli Trippy who upload daily vlogs of their life on their channel. In one of their past vlogs here titled 'Epic Paint Fight' - Alli took part in a 'color run', and from that day, it was something I really wanted to take part in, 6 months later the color run came to the UK and I got to participate in it with my friends :) 

'The Color Run' (it's an American company, that being the reason I'm not spelling color with a U, which I'm finding so difficult to not change) came to various locations in the UK, including London, when I found out I instantly knew had to be there, so myself and two of my uni friends, Lauren and Siobhan teamed up to be called '50 Shades of Awesome' (such a cool name, I know) and ran the 'happiest 5K in the planet' 
The day was such a big blur of fun, I had to get the train from my house in North London to Wembley Stadium where I was meeting my friends in my bright pink running trainers, short shorts and my 'color run' attire.  Along the way, I met some really lovely people - I always think it's funny how events can bring people together, I mean, one minute I'm standing on the platform alone to then being included in strangers friendship groups, talking as if we've known each other for months!

After eventually finding my friends at Wembley station in what felt like a real life version of 'Where's Wally' , we walked down to the stadium where the run was taking place! The run happened in the UK when there was a crazy heatwave, so many people were boiling and sweating buckets before the ran even took place! In the end it just got too hot in our t-shirts, so we tactically cut them all into vest tops, which we felt started a trend as we saw so many people doing the same thing afterwards! 

Train Station version of 'Where's Wally' - Color Run edition
T-shirts cut 
After finding out that 15,000 people had come down to take part in the run, we somehow managed to get into the first wave of runners and after some dancing and crazy chanting we had started the 5k. Due to it being way too hot, and being slightly *ehem* very unfit considering I haven't ran since my secondary school 'I'm very sporty' days, we ended up walking the whole 5K. After having yellow, orange, pink and blue thrown all over us at checkpoints of the run, sweating, and drinking lots and lots of water, we had finished running/walking in just over an hour in 30 degree heat! It was very tiring, but it was one of the funniest experiences I've had in a long time :) 

Starting line!
I decided to vlog a tiny bit of us running and finishing the race - when I'm more into the whole YouTube uploading thing and actually half decent at editing I will try and upload a video to either here or YouTube :) 

When we passed the finish line looking like weirdo's seeing as I was vlogging and my friends were screeching with happiness, we were all given our colour packs, this is for what I think was called the colour festival that takes place at every color run event. The colour festival is where everyone gets together into a haaaauuugeeeee crown, has a little dance and sing along to whatever the DJ plays and when told, everyone throws their colour paint into the air - I will be totally honest with you all - this was the part I was looking forward to do the most out of the whole day :) 

One snippet of the thousands of people dancing to 'Call Me Maybe'
When home time came around, we did what you would always do after doing a 5k run.... eat lots and lots of McDonalds! Ooopsieee! The most interesting part of the day had to be getting the train home! When making my way to the run, I was all nice and white and clean, however when getting the train back, my entire body was covered with different colour powder paints, which really interested other passengers on the train. I don't think I've been talked to on the train by so many interested strangers....ever! 


I'm so happy I said yes to something different, and can finally say I was able to take part in something that I've really wanted to do! If you're interested in taking part in the 'Color Run' check out the website:

I really reccomend you do, it's such a good day out with your friends/family and the memories are really special - It's also good fun to throw paints on strangers and get away with it ;) 


If any of you have been inspired by this post and want to take part in an event like this, click on the links posted above. If you've found you're too late to participate in a run in your area, dont worry! 

There's something very similar and also AMAZING coming soon that myself and my friends have discovered - The Electric Run. This is another 5K run, but at night! I honestly don't think I need to say anymore to sell you on this run but check out their website here to see if it's coming to a place near you :) I'm currently in the process of getting all my friends to take part in this with me and I think you should be doing the same thing to!

Have you taken part in a 'Color Run'? Or anything similar? Had this blog post made you want to? Let me know in the comments below and remember to leave your blog links so I can check out your pages :)

Have a good weekend!

Nicole 
xxx

Thursday, 18 July 2013

Wimbledon Fever!

I may be a little late with this blog post, especially with this topic in particular, but I figured I may as well upload this anyway because: 1. I want to share this experience with you all and 2. It's pretty cool to talk about, regardless of it being over until next year.

As you may or may not have known, the Wimbledon Championships ran from the 24th June, to the 7th July. This is where tennis players from all around the world come to SW19 (South West London) to compete against eachother to become the champions of Wimbleon 2013. I have honestly never really had much of an interest in Wimbledon or even tennis at all, this however was until my boyfriend got a temp job working as a groundsman at Wimbledon, from then on I felt like I really should take much of an interest, and I'm honestly really glad I did. 


On the 26th June, I was lucky enough to be given grounds passes for the day! These tickets allowed us to walk around the grounds, see the courts and all the players practising or playing on the outdoors courts, and it really was an amazing experience. 


I don't know about you, but when it comes to thousands people getting together to be passionate or patriotic about something, I'm all over that - for the Queens diamond jubilee I was super patriotic! This random tv burst of patriotism involved me painting my nails with the union jack, watching every event on the, changing all my backgrounds to something typically British and even buying patriotic candles and cushions for my room! (A little crazy I know) 


When going to Wimbledon for the first time, I didn't go my crazy partiotic/passionate crazy self by wearing a Wimbo t-shirt, tennis gear or sporting the classic green and purple, instead this time, I felt so connected with the crowds and the atmosphere and it's probably something that will stick with me now every year the champs are on and any other event I go to :)  When inside, myself and my buddy for the day, Jess, walked around all the outdoors courts, briefly watched a few games, saw my boyfriend for a little while until it started raining and he had to leave to work (boo rain) , sat on Henman Hill to watch the Centre court games, and best of all, ate Strawberries and cream and drank Pimms. Very classic British Wimbledon spirit :)  

Here are some pictures I took from the day:


Big Screen opposite 'Henman Hill' which showed Centre Court and other games for people who couldn't get to watch the game itself
Play for the day 
Centre Court baby!
Serena Williams
Finalist Novak Djokovic
Laura Robson 
Best Pimms you'll probably ever drink. Probably the most expensive to. 
On the final week of the championships I was in Cyprus (If you haven't and would like to see my blog about my holiday then click HERE) . Despite being in another country, it didn't stop me and many others from watching the mens and women's finals, and a few other games that were on in the evenings. Getting interested in the tennis actually allowed me to make friends on holiday and gave me something to talk about which is actually a real shock for me because I didn't think watching two people hit a ball to and from each other would be something I would take an interest in, but I guess people can change right?! 

Watching the mens final between Djokovic and Murray, had to be one the craziest experiences ever, and one of the memories i'll take away from my holiday! The hotel lobby was packed with people screaming for Murray, when he won, it was literally incredible, seeing all these people who have never met before, act like they know now the person cheering next to them and celebrate Murray's success together was amazing and I would re-live that moment any day :) 


Anyway enough blubbering from me! I hope you enjoyed this blog! Have you ever been to Wimbledon? Or want to go? Let me know in the comments and also leave your blog links so I can check you out :) Also if you want to check out Wimbledon and find out more, check out their website 
HERE 

See you soon for another update blog about something else I've done and can't wait to share with you! 


Nicole 

xxx

Tuesday, 16 July 2013

Holiday Blog - Pafos, Cyprus

Firstly, I'm sorry for not completing the 30 Day Snap Challenge, I actually am really upset I wasn't able to complete the challenge but for the month of June I had so many issues that got in the way of me being able to upload everyday. Yes, it may not be the best excuse but I really did try my best. Perhaps for another month I will do the project again, and because now I finally have internet in my new house I will be able to be more up to date and on top of everything! :)

Anyway, now for something more exiting!

On the 29th June to the 11th July, I, along with my brother and some family friends went to Pafos in Cyprus for a nice relaxing holiday! So, I thought I would put up a blog post about that, seeing as I went a bit A-wall for a while! I'm already suffering a bit from the holiday blues, but I did manage to bring back some sun from Cyrpus to the UK and now were in the middle of a 'heatwave', so no need to thank me UKers ;)

Most days of the holiday consisted of the same little routine, wake up, have breakfast, get ready for a day at the pool, relax and sunbathe for the entire day, go up to the hotel room around 6/6.30, get ready for dinner, have dinner, watch the hotel entertainment (which mostly consisted of just playing bingo and losing... every. single. time. - I don't know how people put up with doing the lottery)

Had to have a flight photograph!


Lauren and myself out for her 20th birthday


Typical holiday sunbathing picture


My favourite two drinks from holiday: San Francisco and Phaethon Special
We did do this for most days/evenings, seeing as this was a total chill out holiday, but we weren't too boring and some nights ventured out of the hotel. We went into Pafos Harbour and other places like 'bar street'! (Most interesting place, you do not need much money to go there out at all - instead you just get into clubs for free and pretty much get giving 4 free drinks for just buying 1) We also went extra crazy and did go-karting which was amazing, being the amazing *ehem* driver I am, I managed to get my hair to cover my eyes whilst my helmet was on, causing me to crash FULL SPEED (I didn't break) into the tyres! I know, don't you just want to jump into my car and go on a road trip? ;)
We also went on a sea water ride called a 'sofa', visited 'Aphrodite's waterpark', and on one special night, got all dressed up for my friend Lauren's 20th birthday to a restaurant called 'Fat Mama's' that had 2 menu's!! 2! That's a lot of food to choose from for a food lover like me! 



Brother and me :) 

The beautiful view from the hotel balcony 


To anyone who is going on holiday during this summer, I hope you have a really amazing time! Remember to drink lots of water and put the suncream on! Sounding like your mum or something I know but seriously, trust me, it saves a lot of drama! 

Nicole
xxx